“Abraham was a hundred years old when his son Isaac was born to him. Sarah said, “God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.”” Genesis 21:5-6

I see you

I hope my smile warms you as your grace warms me

It’s simple when it’s me and you

We’re on top of the world

And I enjoy every bit of this paradise

I close my eyes and take a deep breath

A breath reminiscent of the time you sent life into the dirt to mold me in your image

“Then God said, “Take your son, your only son, whom you love—Isaac—and go to the region of Moriah. Sacrifice him there as a burnt offering on a mountain I will show you.”” Genesis 22:2

I open my eyes and notice you are not where you once were

Lower on the horizon

Sinking faster and faster

I run to the edge but what can I do?

I hear you

“Come with me”

How LORD, you’re far from me

You are so low, I can’t make it to you

“Don’t be afraid, trust in me”

“Abraham answered, “God himself will provide the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.” And the two of them went on together.” Genesis 22:8

LORD why, do you not see the tears in my eyes for you

Is that not enough?

Why must I do this?

You know I’m afraid

Afraid to let go and afraid to leave you

“Don’t be afraid, trust in me”

Echoes through my heart

I know… I know…

Why is it so hard to let go

My feet are roots clinging onto a known foundation

Farther and farther I see

Faster, my father drifts from me

“Don’t be afraid, trust in me”

Ok my LORD… ok

“Then he reached out his hand and took the knife to slay his son.” Genesis 22:10

I close my eyes and turn around

With bended knees I gather enough strength and leap

Instantly I regret my decision

I reach for anything that’s familiar

The rush of fear overwhelms every limb

Will I land?

Will it hurt?

Will I bleed?

Or is it worse?

Tense with fear, I call the only name that comes to mind,

LORD!

““Do not lay a hand on the boy,” he said. “Do not do anything to him. Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.” But the angel of the LORD called out to him from heaven, “Abraham! Abraham!” “Here I am,” he replied.” Genesis 22:11-12

“Don’t be afraid, trust in me”

You utter those few words

A blissful silence sweeps across my mind

Something so sweet can only come from the Divine

I close my eyes and take a deep breath

A breath reminiscent of the time when I was in paradise

Awaiting to rest in your warmth again

A small price to pay, trust, the only sacrifice

