“But the Spirit of the LORD departed from Saul, and an evil spirit from the LORD troubled him.”

1 Samuel 16:14

I have nightmares

Some may consider it to be dreams

But to me, a night terror can be the only way to describe it

Being trapped in fear

Seeing what held you together fall under the heat

Witnesses every cruel detail

As if I’m watching myself thought a horror film

Wondering why can’t I just move

Just turn around and run

You won’t die if you can escape now

I finally get the will to move

It’s too late the damage is done

My body gone numb

My face is wet

I can’t tell if it’s from the tears or the sweat

“Let our lord now command thy servants, which are before thee, to seek out a man, who is a cunning player on an harp: and it shall come to pass, when the evil spirit from God is upon thee, that he shall play with his hand, and thou shalt be well.”

1 Samuel 16:16

I sit in the darkness and wait until I fall in fear

I wait in fear because there’s no escape

from the waking nightmare

Even as I sleep, it still haunts me

I’ll live the day all over again

